go to vampirefreaks main page

vampirefreaks music reviews
   > metal / death metal / black metal

Submit Review
  
  Opeth
  Watershed
Opeth's "Watershed" Review By DeathWish Since 1990 Swedish Roadrunner signed metal monsters Opeth have been carving their way through the world of music with their brand of guitar driven madness. Having been born from Stockholm's recognized world of metal, they seemed poised to show the world how ready they were to take over. They broke away from Death Metal's signature blast beats and speed riffing, lairing their music with melodies of acoustic guitars and harmonies. Undergoing line up changes that would usually end a band's career dead in the water, every album from 'Orchid' to 'Ghost Reveries' seemed to bring a wide spread of experimentation always keeping their fans guessing on what is to come. Well it would seem their persistence and constant touring (which saw them playing legendary festivals such as Wacken and a tour with progressive metal giants Dream Theater) has paid off with their latest Roadrunner release 'Watershed'. One downside I have always seen amongst underground metal is their desire to not only evolve but their attention to the detail of their production. As the album gusts in on a wind of acoustic guitar melodies with harmonic female vocals (contributed by new comer Nathalie Lorichs) blended with Mikael Akerfeldt's own harmonic voice seems to take you away on its stream of beauty. The next track "Heir Apparent" immediately throws you out of your almost dreamy state into a furious blast of pure hard edge, guitar driven metal and growling vocals. By the time you get to the track "Burden" you are shown a constant evolution of not only jazz like patterns but an almost bluesiesh state of acoustical arrangements intermingled with intricate guitar solos. This album is the perfect example of how good production, imagination, and not limiting your sound (even if you are a metal band) can win over a listeners’ heart and mind. This without a doubt needs to be in the CD player of every aspiring guitarist and musical mind; a definite ten and well deserved two thumbs up

Reviewed by Sic79 on June 30, 2008  [View More of Sic79's Reviews]

This review was enjoyed by 7 out of 7 people.


Did you enjoy reading this review? YES NO

The_Damned
Posts: 8


July 02, 2008, 02:05:am

Nice review. Great album. I reviewed the special edition(see link below)

Click for my review

Chris, The Unfriendly Co-owner of Kinky_Teens

Werewolf777
Posts: 1


July 10, 2008, 05:11:pm

good review.
They're a great band. enough said.

Only after the last animal has been killed,
the last tree cut down,
the last river drained,
Only then will people realize
THEY CAN'T EAT MONEY

gattsu
Posts: 1


Amazing album.
July 10, 2008, 09:54:pm

Watershed is an amazing album. I didn't think Opeth could get any better and they surprised me with doing the impossible: releasing an even better album than most (or anything for that matter) of what I've ever heard.

"Time fades scarred memories"

p3ll3
Posts: 1


Amazing album.
July 10, 2008, 10:01:pm

ALBUM OF THE YEAR

eternal_sin666
Posts: 2


Amazing album.
July 10, 2008, 10:19:pm

I personally didn't think Watershed was that great, there was nothing on the album that really hooked me. To me Ghost Reveries and Blackwater Park will always be their best albums.

p3ll3
Posts: 2


Amazing album.
July 10, 2008, 10:24:pm

You're kidding me, right? Hessian Peel? Burden? Haha. Can't get enough of that album.. But heck, every Opeth album is a masterpiece. Blackwater Park and The Moor remain as best tracks though..

eternal_sin666
Posts: 4


Amazing album.
July 10, 2008, 11:23:pm

I'm really not kidding, I just couldn't get into the new album. Although Axenrot is a good drummer I thought the drum parts weren't as good because Lopez has this really special groove that he gave to the band. That might be one of the reasons I didn't get hooked on the new album

The_Damned
Posts: 10


Amazing album.
July 11, 2008, 05:40:am

each to their own

Chris, The Unfriendly Co-owner of Kinky_Teens

45phantoms
Posts: 1


Amazing album.
July 11, 2008, 04:23:pm

Really solid album, but not much of a change from what Opeth have done.

Still, a really solid album, worth my 20$.

888cly
Posts: 79


Outlet Louis Vuitton
November 11, 2011, 04:41:am

When we talk about Outlet Louis Vuitton, many people even do not understand it. As for many people, they are familiar with cheap Louis Vuitton New Bag. But they donot know that we have Vuitton Monogram Borse too. And Nuovi Louis Vuitton Borse subtle but rarity, you can bring them to your home as collections. Each of its details is designed delicately.

Many people have the dreams to owning a Monogram Multicolore Louis Vuitton production, but they will worry about that they have no much money to buy them. They have the same charm as Portafoglio Louis Vuitton. Each of them is designed by the famous designers from all over the world. They have the special ideals about fashion. With their effort Louis Vuitton Damier Ebene Canvas Berkeley Borsa owning a lot of fashion elements. Now, we have put off something series of cups. For example, Louis Vuitton Monogram Canvas la maddalena and Louis Vuitton Monogram Multicolor Marilyn Noir Borsa cakes, each year we will make something new on it, and do some change. Each of them has its special features.

Amity123
Posts: 386


Moncler Bottes
December 05, 2011, 10:54:pm

Some women look good always worried about Down bloated, single color, it is not. Moncler Mengke Lai is a living example. Down MONCLER the world's top brands, has been a number of stars, celebrity favorite. Of course, now our friends can go to the store to buy real authentic. But monopoly, then of course valuable, generally in the 8000-15000 or so, so in order to save some meters when good friends online to buy, store and reduce the expensive labor costs, the price naturally down a lot. Moncler down jacket as the cold season, when skiing or in the elegant occasions recognized the must-have item. In the halls into the real, it entered the track, put a nice down jacket exquisite presentation in front of people, today, the industry in the down jacket, but without it things with only a high Lu rooster match.


Moncler Bottes


Moncler Doudoune


Doudoune Moncler Femme


Doudoune Moncler Homme


Gilet Moncler Femme


Moncler Doudoune Enfant


Gilet Moncler Homme

Leave a comment:
Subject:
Comment:
Preview    Include Signature   

[ Show Emotes ]       [ Edit Signature ]

vampirefreaks music reviews - metal / death metal / black metal


[ VF Points: 0 ]   [ Points Today: ]
[ Terms of Service ] [ About ] [ Getting Started ] [ FAQ ] [ Privacy Policy ]
© VampireFreaks.com / Synth-tec Inc. 2014   All Rights Reserved